Staff & Board

Stuart Clarke

Stuart ClarkeStuart Clarke has been Executive Director of the Town Creek Foundation since October of 2004. His previous philanthropic experience includes assignments as a Program Officer with the Turner Foundation and as Development Director of the Southern Partners Fund, both in Atlanta, GA. Stuart has also served on the faculty of Williams College in Williamstown, MA; as the Director of the Atlanta Outward Bound Center; and as the Chief Operating Officer of Hands On Network, a national network of community-based centers for volunteerism and civic action.

Stuart has served on the boards of the Center for a New American Dream, the Environmental Grantmakers Association, and Outward Bound, and is currently a Trustee of the Chesapeake Bay Trust.

He received his undergraduate degree from Lafayette College in Pennsylvania and did his graduate work at Yale University.

Meredith Lathbury Girard

Meredith Lathbury Girard

Meredith Lathbury Girard joined the Town Creek Foundation as the Senior Program Officer in October 2011. Meredith leads the foundation’s Chesapeake Bay restoration and food system reform work. Town Creek Foundation currently is co-chair of the Washington Regional Food Funders and Meredith is a past co-chair of the Chesapeake Bay Funders Network (2014-2016). She has a background in Chesapeake Bay environmental issues in both the government and non-profit sectors. Meredith joined Town Creek Foundation after serving as Director of Land Acquisition and Planning for the Maryland Department of Natural Resources, which administers Maryland’s nationally recognized land conservation effort known as Program Open Space. She earned a B.A. in Economics from Penn State University, and a J.D. and Masters in Environmental Law from Vermont Law School. Meredith is a member of the Maryland and Federal bar.

Megan Milliken

Megan MillikenMegan Milliken joined the Town Creek Foundation as Program Assistant in February 2012.  She graduated Magna Cum Laude with Departmental Honors from Washington College with a B.A. in Environmental Studies and a concentration in Chesapeake Regional Studies.  As Program Assistant, Megan helps manage the proposal  and grant reporting process for the Foundation’s four programmatic areas.  She also works closely with the Senior Program Officer to manage the Chesapeake Bay and Food System Reform portfolios.

In addition to her role at the Foundation, Megan staffs the Chesapeake Bay Funders Network and is a Senior Fellow of the Environmental Leadership Program.  Megan currently serves in a leadership capacity for the D.C. Chapter of the Emerging Practitioners in Philanthropy; Chesapeake Bay Funders Network’s Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Initiative; the Washington Regional Food Funders; and the Association of Baltimore Area Grantmaker’s Program Committee, Policy Committee, and Rising Leaders of Maryland group.


Cheryl Lee

Cheryl LeeCheryl Lee has been with the Town Creek Foundation since February of 2004. As Office Manager, her duties encompass all tasks necessary to keep the office running smoothly. Cheryl came to the Eastern Shore of Maryland in 2001 from Palm Bay, Florida, where she worked in the corporate world as a Purchasing Agent for Rockwell International.

Board of Directors

Jennifer Stanley, President
Lisa Stanley, Vice President
Phil Dietz, Treasurer
Betsy Taylor
Donald Boesch, PhD